Johnny Cash - Complete Mercury Albums 1986-1991 (Vinyl Box-Set)



Johnny Cash's Mercury Records catalog is being revisited for the first time ever with the comprehensive collection The Complete Mercury Recordings 1986-1991.

In the mid-1980s as Johnny Cash found himself between labels, Mercury Records signed the country legend for what would end up being a prolific string of six albums in five years. The records, released from 1986 to 1991, were a diverse collection that included a notable reunion with fellow Sun Records alumni Roy Orbison, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins, star-studded collaborations with Paul McCartney and Linda McCartney, Glen Campbell, Waylon Jennings, Emmylou Harris, Hank Williams Jr. and others, inspired takes on songs from Elvis Costello, Guy Clark and Harry Chapin, the Man in Black revisiting his classic hits, and some of the finest songs ever written by Cash. Despite the quality of material, Cash's stint with Mercury has never been revisited-until now.

The Complete Mercury Recordings 1986-1991 features the entire output of Johnny Cash's Mercury Recordings. The box set contains six albums across 7LPs in total including Class Of '55: Memphis Rock & Roll HomecomingJohnny Cash Is Coming To TownWater From The Wells Of HomeClassic Cash: Hall Of Fame SeriesBoom Chicka Boom, and The Mystery Of Life.

LP1 – Carl Perkins/Jerry Lee Lewis / Roy Orbison/ Johnny Cash - Class Of '55: Memphis Rock & Roll Homecoming (1986)



  1. Birth of Rock and Roll

  2. Sixteen Candles

  3. Class of ‘55

  4. Waymore’s Blues

  5. We Remember the King


  1. Coming Home

  2. Rock and Roll Fais-Do-Do)

  3. Keep My Motor Running

  4. I Will Rock and Roll with You

  5. Big Train (From Memphis)

LP2 – Johnny Cash Is Coming to Town (1987)


  1. The Big Light

  2. The Ballad of Barbara

  3. I’d Rather Have You

  4. Let Him Roll

  5. The Night Hank Williams Came to Town


  1. Sixteen Tons

  2. Letters From Home

  3. W. Lee O’Daniel (And the Light Crush Dough Boys)

  4. Heavy Metal (Don’t Mean Rock and Roll to Me)

  5. My Ship Will Sail

LP 3 – Water From the Wells of Home (1988)

1. Ballad Of A Teenage Queen (featuring Rosanne Cash & The Everly Brothers)
2. As Long As I Live (featuring Jessi Colter, Emmylou Harris, Waylon Jennings, and Roy Acuff)
3. Where Did We Go Right (featuring June Carter & The Carter Family)
4. The Last Of The Drifters (featuring Tom T. Hall)
5. Call Me The Breeze (featuring John Carter Cash)

1. That Old Wheel (featuring Hank Williams Jr.)
2. Sweeter Than The Flowers (featuring Jessi Colter, Emmylou Harris, and Waylon Jennings)
3. A Croft in Clachan (The Ballad of Rob MacQueen) (featuring Glen Campbell)
4. New Moon Over Jamaica (featuring Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney, June Carter, and Tom T. Hall)
5. Water From The Wells Of Home (featuring John Carter Cash)

LP 4 - Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series  (1988)

Disc 1

1. Get Rhythm (1988 Version)
2. Tennessee Flat Top Box (1988 Version)
3. Long Black Veil (1988 Version)
4. A Thing Called Love (1988 Version)
5. I Still Miss Someone (1988 Version)
1. Cry, Cry, Cry (1988 Version)
2. Blue Train (1988 Version)
3. Sunday Morning Coming Down (1988 Version)
4. Five Feet High And Rising (1988 Version)
5. Peace In The Valley (1988 Version)

LP 5 Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series (1988)

Disc 2

1. Don't Take Your Guns To Town (1988 Version)
2. Home Of The Blues (1988 Version)
3. Guess Things Happen That Way (1988 Version)
4. I Got Stripes (1988 Version)
5. I Walk The Line (1988 Version)
1. Ring Of Fire (1988 Version)
2. Ballad of Ira Hayes (1988 Version)
3. The Ways Of A Woman In Love (1988 Version)
4. Folsom Prison Blues (1988 Version)
5. Supper Time (1988 Version)

LP 6 – Boom Chicka Boom (1990)

1. A Backstage Pass
2. Cat's In The Cradle
3. Farmer's Almanac
4. Don't Go Near The Water
5. Family Bible

1. Harley
2. I Love You Love You
3. Hidden Shame
4. Mounteagle Mountain
5. That's One You Owe Me

LP 7 – The Mystery of Life (1991)

1. The Greatest Cowboy Of Them All
2. I'm An Easy Rider
3. The Mystery Of Life
4. Hey Porter
5. Beans For Breakfast

1. Goin' By The Book
2. Wanted Man
3. I'll Go Somewhere And Sings My Songs Again (featuring Tom T. Hall)
4. The Hobo Song
5. Angel and The Badman

Share this Product

More Featured Products